Best Food and Beverage Websites of 2011 to be Named by Web Marketing Association in 15th Annual WebAward CompetitionThe Web Marketing Association announces the call for entries for its 15th annual international WebAward Competition for Web site development at The WebAwards is the standards-defining competition that sets benchmarks for 96 industries, including food and beverage websites, based on the seven criteria of a successful web site. The deadline for food and beverage websites to enter to be judged is May 27, 2011.

“Both the foods and the beverage industries are very competitive when it comes to Web development and companies can benefit from the independent evaluation of their online efforts,” said William Rice, President of the Web Marketing Association. “Food web sites are usually well designed and contain well-written content. Areas of improvement include innovation and use of technology. Beverage websites have traditionally been innovative and score high in design aspects.”

Web sites are judged on seven criteria including design, innovation, content, technology, interactivity, copy writing and ease of use. Each WebAward entry is judged against other entries in its industry category and then against an overall standard of excellence.

All entrants benefit from receiving valuable feedback in terms of their specific scores compared against the average scores for their industry. They also may receive specific comments from the WebAward’s professional judging panel on their Web site development efforts.

Winners of a WebAward in the food and beverage categories will also receive:

  • Handsome statue or certificate of achievement
  • Increased visibility for their company
  • Marketing opportunity to promote the company website to the media
  • Links to your site from the highly ranked WebAward site to help SEO
  • A highlight for your resume
  • Admiration of peers, friends and co-workers

Each year the Web Marketing Association names the best industry websites based on the scores submitted by the competition judges.

Recent winners of the Best Food Web site include:

2010 — Biggs|Gilmore for Apple Jacks/Catch the Taste
2009 — G2 interactive for Fishful Thinking
2008 — XylemCCI for Jack Link’s Beef Jerky Web site
2007 — Biggs|Gilmore for Pop-Tarts
2006 — Publicis Net for Coca Cola BlaK
2005 — These Days & Sara Lee for Jacqmotte Escape
2004 — Emerald of California for Emerald of California web site
2003 — Fairytale Brownies for
2002 — Fry, Inc. for Hickory Farms

Recent winners of the Best Beverage Web site include:

2010 — Hungama Digital Media for Pepsi-The Game
2009 — BLITZ Agency for Naked Juice Web Site
2008 — Eurorscg 4D Amsterda, for Carte Noire: ‘Une Declaration Nommee Desir’
2007 — Squeaky Wheel Media for SoBe Beverages
2006 — Creative Presence Partners / MaxMedia Design for KING JAMES
2005 — Tribal DDB Sydney for Dare Shot
2004 — Brown-Forman for Early Times
2003 — Bacardi Global Brands / Motivo / cosmoblonde for BACARDI.COM

There is one significant change in this year’s WebAwards. The much coveted Top Agency WebAward is given to the organization who wins the most total WebAwards in a single competition. However each year many agencies win multiple awards and deserve additional recognition. This year, we will recognize each organization that wins 10 or more WebAwards with an Outstanding Interactive Developer trophy.

Participants can improve their chances on winning a WebAward by checking out the Web Marketing Association Facebook Page and becoming a fan of the page.  The Web Marketing Association will be providing hints and tips on how to improve your chances on winning a top award throughout April and May.

The 2011 WebAwards are sponsored by the following leading organizations: BGT Partners, Burst Media, PR Newswire, AllBusiness, ExactTarget, ad:tech conferences,  Internet World UK, SES Conferences, Webmaster Radio, and Website Magazine.

About the WebAwards

The Web Marketing Association’s 15th annual international WebAwards competition sets the standard of excellence in 96 industries by evaluating Web sites based on the seven essential criteria of successful Web site development. The WebAwards recognizes the people and organizations responsible for developing the most effective Websites on the Internet today. Entrants benefit from a Website assessment by a professional judging panel and the marketing opportunities presented to an award-winning Web site. For more information, visit

Subscribe to our RSS feed!